Click Here for Download our Free Mobile Android App
All Free Sample Papers, Solved Model Papers, Solved Question Papers, Bank Sample Papers, UPSC Sample Paper, B.Ed Solved Papers, General Awareness Solved Papers, Indian Competitive Exams, Railway Recruitment Board Exams Paper, SSC Sample Paper , CBSE Sample Paper , Employment News , Results etc.
Published by Surendra Tetarwal for

Powers of Prime Minister

  • Appoints the COuncil of Ministers.
  • Allocates portfolios. Can ask a minister to resign and can get him dismissed by President.
  • Assist the President in appointment of all high officials.
  • Can recommend to the President to declare emergency on grounds of war, external aggression or armed rebellion.
  • Advises President about President's rule in the State or emergency due to financial instability.
  • The President convenes and prorogues all sessions of Parliamenr in consultation with him/her.
  • Can recommend the dissolution of Lok Sabha before expire.
  • Leader of the House

Dr. Manmohan Singh (May 22, 2004 - till date) - Party (INC)

Dr. Manmohan SinghIndia’s fourteenth Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh is rightly acclaimed as a thinker and a scholar. He is well regarded
 for his diligence and his academic approach to work, as well as his accessibility and his unassuming demeanour. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was born on September 26, 1932, in a village in the Punjab province of undivided India. Dr. Singh completed his Matriculation examinations from the Panjab University in 1948. His academic career took him from Punjab to the University of Cambridge, UK, where he earned a First Class Honours degree in Economics in 1957. Dr. Singh followed this with a D.Phil in Economics from Nuffield College at Oxford University in 1962. His book, “India's Export Trends and Prospects for Self-Sustained Growth” [Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1964] was an early critique of India's inward-oriented trade policy.
Dr. Singh’s academic credentials were burnished by the years he spent on the faculty of Punjab University and the prestigious Delhi School of Economics. He had a brief stint at the UNCTAD Secretariat as well, during these years. This presaged a subsequent appointment as Secretary General of the South Commission in Geneva between 1987 and 1990. In 1971, Dr. Singh joined the Government of India as Economic Advisor in the Commerce Ministry. This was soon followed by his appointment as Chief Economic Advisor in the Ministry of Finance in 1972. Among the many Governmental positions that Dr. Singh has occupied are Secretary in the Ministry of Finance; Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission; Governor of the Reserve Bank of India; Advisor of the Prime Minister; and Chairman of the University Grants Commission. In what was to become the turning point in the economic history of independent India, Dr. Singh spent five years between 1991 and 1996 as India’s Finance Minister. His role in ushering in a comprehensive policy of economic reforms is now recognized worldwide. In the popular view of those years in India, that period is inextricably associated with the persona of Dr. Singh.
Among the many awards and honours conferred upon Dr. Singh in his public career, the most prominent are India’s second highest civilian honour, the Padma Vibhushan (1987); the Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Award of the Indian Science Congress (1995); the Asia Money Award for Finance Minister of the Year (1993 and 1994); the Euro Money Award for Finance Minister of the Year (1993), the Adam Smith Prize of the University of Cambridge (1956); and the Wright's Prize for Distinguished Performance at St. John's College in Cambridge (1955). Dr. Singh has also been honoured by a number of other associations including by the Japanese Nihon Keizai Shimbun.
Dr. Singh has represented India at many international conferences and in several international organizations. He has led Indian Delegations to the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Cyprus (1993) and to the World Conference on Human Rights in Vienna in 1993. In his political career, Dr. Singh has been a Member of India’s Upper House of Parliament (the Rajya Sabha) since 1991, where he was Leader of the Opposition between 1998 and 2004.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (May 16, 1996 - June 1, 1996 and March 19, 1998 - May 22, 2004) - Party (BJP)

Shri Inder Kumar Gujral (April 21, 1997 - March 19, 1998) - Party (Janta Dal)

Shri H. D. Deve Gowda (June 1, 1996 - April 21, 1997) - Party (Janta Dal)

P. V. Narasimha Rao (June 21, 1991- May 16, 1996) - Party (Congress[I])

Shri Chandra Shekhar (November 10, 1990 - June 21, 1991) Party (Janta Dal[S])

Shri V. P. Singh (December 2, 1989 - November 10, 1990) - Party(Janta Dal)

Mr. Rajiv Gandhi (October 31, 1984 - December 2, 1989) - Party (Congress[I])

Shri Charan Singh (July 28, 1979 - January 14, 1980) - Party(Janta Party)

Shri Morarji Desai (March 24, 1977 - July 28, 1979) - Party (Janta Party)

Smt. Indira Gandhi (January 24, 1966 - March 24, 1977 and January 14, 1980 - October 31, 1984) - Party(Congress & Congress[I])

Lal Bahadur Shastri (June 9, 1964 - January 11, 1966) - Party(Congress)

Shri Gulzarilal Nanda (May 27, 1964 - June 9, 1964 and January 11, 1966 - January 24, 1966)- Party (Congress)

Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru (August 15, 1947 - May 27, 1964 )- Party (Congress)



  1. Hello, as you can see this is my first post here.
    Hope to receive some assistance from you if I will have some quesitons.
    Thanks and good luck everyone! ;)

  2. hiya

    Just saying hello while I read through the posts

    hopefully this is just what im looking for looks like i have a lot to read.


World GK

Blog Archive

Powered by Blogger.

Popular Posts

Blogger Tutorials


Solved Papers


Text Widget